INFJ Personality Type

I’ve scanned personality profiles for INFJs ever since I realized that’s where I fall on the Myers-Briggs chart.  For instance, I am Galadriel from Lord of the Rings, Obi-Wan Kenobi from Star Wars, and Remus Lupin from Harry Potter.  I’m a bit of a sucker for reading descriptions of INFJ personality qualities because I love that thrill of “Oh my gosh, that’s me.  How is this so eerily accurate?”

I recently stumbled across 16Personalities, and their description felt like someone had psychoanalyzed me and published their findings on the Internet.  If you know your type, you can read through the description under the “Type” tab.  If not, the site offers a 12-minute test that you can take for free.

I’m going to list some of the statements that struck me as especially accurate.  I don’t know how interesting this will be for the casual viewer of this blog, but hey!  Think of it as a way to get to know me a little better. 

“INFJs tend to see helping others as their purpose in life, but while people with this personality type can be found engaging rescue efforts and doing charity work, their real passion is to get to the heart of the issue so that people need not be rescued at all.”

Well…yup.  I’d say this exactly describes my passion for missionary and charity work as well as my desire to explain feminist and faith issues at a heart level so that I can stop doing missionary and charity work.

“To INFJs, the world is a place full of inequity – but it doesn’t have to be. No other personality type is better suited to create a movement to right a wrong, no matter how big or small.”

*hyperventilating*  But–but I want to change the world!  THIS IS PERFECT.  And the fact that notable INFJs include Martin Luther King Jr., Mother Theresa, and Nelson Mandela?  Oh, how amazing if I could stand alongside such giants.

infj-headStrengths
1.  Creative
2.  Insightful
3.  Inspiring and Convincing
4.  Decisive
5.  Determined and Passionate
6.  Altruistic

Weaknesses
1.  Sensitive
2.  Extremely Private
3.  Perfectionistic
4.  Always Need to Have a Cause
5.  Can Burn Out Easily

Relationships

“There is a running theme with INFJs, and that is a yearning for authenticity and sincerity – in their activities, their romantic relationships, and their friendships…INFJs seek out people who share their passions, interests and ideologies, people with whom they can explore philosophies and subjects that they believe are truly meaningful.”

I didn’t fully know I’ve been doing this, but I HAVE.

“INFJs are often perfectionistic, looking for ultimate compatibility, and yet also look for someone with whom they can grow and improve in tandem. Needless to say, this is a tall order, and INFJs should try to remember that they are a particularly rare personality type, and even if they find someone compatible in that sense, the odds that they will also share every interest are slim. If they don’t learn to meet others halfway and recognize that the kind of self-improvement and depth they demand is simply exhausting for many types, INFJs are likely end up abandoning healthy friendships in their infancy, in search of more perfect compatibilities.”

I Nick-Miller-turtle-faced my way through this quote, because it is too painfully accurate.

“Once a common thread is found though, people with the INFJ personality type make loyal and supportive companions, encouraging growth and life-enriching experiences with warmth, excitement and care. As trust grows, INFJs will share more of what lies beneath the surface, and if those ideas and motives are mutual, it’s the sort of friendship that will transcend time and distance, lasting a lifetime. INFJs don’t require a great deal of day-to-day attention – for them, quality trumps quantity every time.”

Yeah, baby, this is DEFINITELY how I do friendship.

“People with the INFJ personality type are unflinching in their devotion to their children, willing to grin and bear any burden without hesitation. While warm and compassionate throughout the parenting relationship, what INFJs are really looking forward to is being able to communicate and relate to the person they helped to raise, as equals.”

I’m not a parent, but this is very much how I relate to the kids I nanny.  And that last sentence!  That is exactly why I have zero interest in babies.  Kids only really become interesting to me around age 5 or 6, when they can start having conversations.

And finally…

“Few personality types are as sensitive and mysterious as INFJs. Your imagination and empathy make you someone who not only cherishes their integrity and deeply held principles but, unlike many other idealistic types, is also capable of turning those ideals into plans, and executing them.”

This is so true, I want it to be true, please let it be true.

What is your Myers-Brigg personality type?  Did you take the 16Personalities test?  What did you learn about yourself?  Leave a comment and let me know!

10 thoughts on “INFJ Personality Type

  1. The Mama With Bipolar Disorder February 3, 2015 / 10:09 am

    I feel the same way! That’s me!? Woohoo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rxqeen October 10, 2016 / 12:41 pm

    Hey Im an INFJ too I was really shocked when i read how pin accurate the MBTI test was ,It was describing me exactly

    Like

  3. powermechguy November 22, 2016 / 3:51 am

    Thank you for posting this. I’ve read many threads and examined many definitions. I’ve perused many sites and tried to find conclusions from so many descriptions. Just observing someone else have the same reactions I had really sealed the deal. I could never figure out why I was so unique in social situations. But I now I see that I really am different: INFJ different…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia November 22, 2016 / 9:20 am

      I’m so glad my emotional reactions helped you discover your personality type! I’ve come to really love being an INFJ, though re-reading through some of this (particularly the romance section) still made me annoyed with its accuracy!

      Like

  4. 33Estella May 19, 2017 / 6:45 am

    I must say it was hard to find your page in search results.
    You write awesome content but you should rank your blog higher in search engines.
    If you don’t know how to do it search on youtube: how to rank a website Marcel’s way

    Like

  5. Kelly June 27, 2020 / 12:26 pm

    I just discovered this morning that I’m an INFJ. I decided to find out my type, because my Life Path number in numerology is 36/9, and so is Carl Jung’s, so I figured his system would be accurate. And boy, is it! Supposedly, Jung was an INFJ too? Discovering this made me feel so much better. I’ve always felt that so few people were like me, as I’ve searched for exact fit role models, business partners, romantic partners, friends, and now I know it’s true! There just aren’t that many people like me! I’m so glad I found some here!

    Like

  6. Wassim Aouadi November 27, 2020 / 3:12 am

    I am in that personality type too! It is a bit scary to read it with that degree of accuracy..

    Like

  7. Trish November 11, 2022 / 6:12 am

    Hi! My name is Trish too & I am an INFJ!!! Very accurate test!!!

    Like

Leave a comment